Site Statistics

Started by Mishenka, February 08, 2007, 03:46:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mishenka

Guess I'm the newbie here, so hi everyone!

do i need to access AWstats through somewhere other than Cpanel? cuz I don' see it there lol  :D

what about urchin(sp?)? i dont know what that one is like yet, which one is better to use?

Mark

You access AW-Stats through Cpanel. At the bottom of the page there's a section called "Statistics", within there is a link to "Stats Configuration" you may need to make sure that AW-Stats is enabled. I think it's disabled by default, hence why you can't find it.  Webalizer Web Stats is the one that is enabled by default.

As for Urchin, that is a very pretty and extremely detailed stats program. I personally like it, but the only draw back is because it's so detailed and has so many features it takes up a good chunk of space. So if you are on a lower hosting plan with little space to spare I'd advise against using that one. But if you are curious, you could always temporarily enable it and check it out, then disable and delete the files when you are done. :)

Mishenka

Mark

No problem, questions on anything else, feel free to ask. And welcome aboard. :)

Mishenka

does it take a full day's worth of stats before it shows in my cpanel? or how does that work?

i check urchin, just to check it out, but when i open it, it says "Content-Type: text/html Unable to get profile id from configuration database" , same prob? not enough stats yet? it's only been a day or so.

Mark

Umm, honestly, I'm not sure. It probably rebuilds at a certain time of day or week even, I don't remember Urchin being live stats. I had Urchin and AWStats disabled on my account too, and I just enabled them and I get the same problem so I'm pretty sure it takes a day or two to collect and publish stats for you.

The only one that has up to the hour I believe is Webalizer.

Mishenka

cool, thanks for the info!

Mishenka